The Board of Limited Jurisdiction

The St. Thomas Aquinas High School Board of Limited Jurisdiction is a governing body that oversees the operations and decision-making processes of specific areas and functions of STA. These areas include financial management, curriculum development, building and groups, and specific policies and procedures. The Board members possess expertise or experience relevant to the specific jurisdiction of the Board and focus their efforts and expertise on the specific areas that the Board oversees, contributing to the school's overall success and adherence to its mission.

Rev. Timothy A. Christy

Board President

Fr. Timothy Christy has been a Board member since 2022 and serves as the Board President. Ordained a priest of the Diocese of Metuchen in 1992, he was installed as the fifth Rector of the Cathedral of St. Francis of Assisi in September 2021. Prior to coming to the Cathedral, he was appointed by Bishop James F. Checchio to serve as the Vicar General in June 2018, a position he held until August of 2022. He also served as the diocesan Episcopal Vicar for Evangelization & Communication and as Moderator of the Curia. His past parish assignments included serving as pastor of St. Magdalen de Pazzi, Flemington, NJ from 2002-2017, as well as being the parochial vicar at several parishes throughout the Diocese. Father Christy is also an Adjunct Instructor of Pastoral Theology at Immaculate Conception Seminary, Seton Hall University and an Equestrian Knight of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem and Knight of Columbus, Third Degree.

Barbara Stevens

Board Secretary

Barbara Stevens has been a Board member since 2022 and serves as the Board Secretary. She holds a master’s degree in education and a professional diploma in Administration & Supervision. Her professional experience includes serving as a special education teacher, a middle school teacher of science and mathematics, Principal of St. Francis Cathedral School, Assistant Superintendent of the Diocese of Metuchen, and currently Superintendent of the Diocese of Metuchen.

Rev. Keith M. Cervine

Interim School President

Fr. Keith Cervine has been a Board Member since 2022 and is currently the Interim President of STA. He holds a bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering from Rutgers University, an S.T.B. & Master of Divinity from St. Mary’s Seminary & University, and an Ed.S. from Seton Hall University. His professional experience includes serving as New York Operations Manager for Matrikon International, Inc., Associate Director of Vocations and Director of the House of Discernment for the Diocese of Metuchen, Campus Minister for the Catholic Center at Rutgers University, Parochial Vicar for St. Bernard of Clairvaux (Bridgewater), Director of Catholic Identity for St. Thomas Aquinas High School, and currently is the Parochial Vicar for Immaculate Conception Church (Annandale).

Thomas Alesi

Finance Committee Member

Tom Alesi has been a Board member since 2023 and serves as a member of the Finance Committee. He is a graduate of St. Francis College in New York and holds a bachelor’s degree in English. His professional career spans over 30 years in the Telecom Industry beginning with ITT in New York City and later on in Senior Executive Positions with Sprint Corp and, most recently with T-Mobile. Now retired from corporate life, Tom serves as a Senior Strategic Advisor to OneFiber Inc, a company that builds Municipally Owned Fiber Optic Broadband Services for rural and underserved towns and cities across the United States who have limited access to High Speed Internet.

Linda Carroll

Enrollment Committee

Linda Carroll has been a board member since 2021 and serves on the Enrollment Committee. In her professional life, she has worked for St. Peter's University Healthcare System since 1984 in a variety of leadership positions including but not limited to director of medical surgical services, ambulatory and critical divisions, and director of professional practice/magnet program director. In her current role as vice president of patient care services and CNO, Ms. Carroll is responsible for overseeing all in-patient nursing division operations. She is the recipient of numerous accolades, most notably Chief Nursing Officer of Year from the Organization of Nurse Leaders.

Robert F. Merski

Buildings & Grounds Committee Chairperson
Transportation Committee Chairperson
Academics Committee Member

Robert Merski has been a Board member since 2021 and serves as the Buildings & Grounds and Transportation Committee Chairperson. He is a graduate of the Catholic University of America with bachelor’s and master’s degrees in mathematics. In his professional life he was a Senior Scientist in the Electronics Division at Lockheed, a Distinguished Member of Technical Staff at AT&T/Bell Laboratories and an AT&T Lead Principal Technical Architect. His contributions helped advance the telecommunications systems in multiple countries, including the United States and Poland.

Matthew Mueller

Finance Committee Chairperson

Matthew Mueller has been a Board member since 2021 and serves as the Finance Committee Chairperson. He is a graduate of Villanova University with a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering and, subsequently, a graduate of Rutgers University with a master’s degree in finance. Now retired, he has over 20 years of finance-related experience in the pharmaceutical industry, working for Shering-Plough and Sanofi, most recently as a Senior Director for Government Contract Operations.

Gregory D. Worosila

Academics Committee Chairperson

Gregory Worosila has been a Board member since 2021 and serves as the Academic Committee Chairperson. He is a proud graduate of St. Thomas Aquinas High School and holds a bachelor’s degree from Seton Hall University in chemistry and a doctorate from Rutgers University in the same. His professional experience includes serving as a Pharmaceutical Chemist for Ciba-Geigy (later Novartis), a Director of Medical Affairs for Hurley Consulting Associates, and a Senior Director of Analytical Development for Johnson & Johnson.